Service Authority

The Nelson County Service Authority is a public body that was organized and created under the Virginia Water and Waste Authorities Act of the Code of Virginia of 1950 as amended. The Nelson County Board of Supervisors created the Authority in 1986. The Authority is governed by five citizen members appointed by the Nelson County Board of Supervisors to four-year staggered terms. The Authority has no taxing power. The revenues of the Authority are derived from services provided to our customer base.

The purpose of the Authority is to “acquire, construct, improve, extend, operate and maintain a water and sewage system in Nelson County.” The Authority provides public water and sewer services to the following unincorporated communities in Nelson County; Wintergreen Mountain Village, Lovingston, Arrington, Shipman, Colleen, Schuyler, Gladstone and the Piney River system, which is owned by the County of Nelson, but operated and maintained by NCSA.

Public water may not be available in your area in which case you will need to contract for drilling a well and installing a septic system.

Meeting Schedule

The Service Authority meets on the third Thursday of the month at 8:30 am at the Administration Building, 620 Cooperative Way, Arrington, Virginia 22922


620 Cooperative Way
Arrington, VA 22922
Mailing Address
P.O. Box 249
Lovingston, VA 22949

George T. Miller, Executive Director