Birth, Marriage, Divorce, & Death Certificates Available at Your Local Health Department

Birth, Marriage, and Divorce Certificates:

◆ Certified copies of these certificates are available at all local health departments *if* the birth, marriage, or divorce occurred in Virginia.

Death Certificates:

- ◆ Death certificates can be filed, and certified copies can be obtained, at any health department in Virginia, *regardless* of where the death occurred.
- ♦ If it's less than 30 days since the filing of the death, you can only get a copy of the death certificate from the city/county where it was originally filed.
- Certified copies are available upon request to eligible people.

Who Can Get Copies of Birth, Marriage, Divorce, and Death Certificates:

- ♦ Only immediate family members (mother, father, current spouse, husband, wife, child, brother, sister, or grandparents) can get copies of birth, marriage, death, and divorce certificates, and they must provide a valid ID.
- ♦ Legal guardians must provide custody papers in order to get a certificate.
- ♦ Aunts, uncles, cousins, in-laws, former spouses, etc. cannot get any copies.

Fees for All Certificates:

- ♦ \$12 for each certificate and/or search of a vital record.
- ♦ Cash, check, money orders, VISA, or MasterCard accepted.

Where to Get Certificates:

Charlottesville/Albemarle County

Health Department, Entrance #3 1138 Rose Hill Drive Charlottesville 22903 (434) 972-6219

Louisa County

Environmental Health Department 1 Woolfolk Avenue Louisa, VA 23093 (540) 967-3707

Fluvanna County

Health Department Route 15, County Office Building Palmyra, VA 22963 (434) 591-1065

Nelson County

Health Department 4038 Thomas Nelson Highway Arrington, VA 22922 (434) 263-4297

Greene County

Health Department 50 Stanard Street Stanardsville, VA 22973 (434) 985-2262



