• Visiting us in Nelson County? Be sure to check out our Resources for Visitors •

County Holiday Schedule

Nelson County offices will observe the following holiday schedule:

Friday, January 1, 2021 New Year’s Day Closed
Monday, January 18, 2021 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Closed
Monday, February 15, 2021 George Washington Day Closed
Monday, May 31, 2021 Memorial Day Closed
Friday, June 18, 2021 Juneteenth (Observed) Closed
Monday, July 5, 2021 Independence Day (Observed) Closed
Monday, September 6, 2021 Labor Day Closed
Monday, October 11, 2021 Columbus Day & Yorktown Victory Day Closed
Tuesday, November 2, 2021 Election Day Closed
Thursday, November 11, 2021 Veterans Day Closed
Wednesday, November 24, 2021 Day Before Thanksgiving 1/2 Day – Offices Closed to Public @ Noon
Thursday, November 25, 2021 Thanksgiving Day Closed
Friday, November 26, 2021 Day After Thanksgiving Closed
Thursday, December 23, 2021 Christmas Eve Closed
Friday, December 24, 2021 Christmas (Observed) Closed
Friday, December 31, 2021 New Year’s Day (Observed) Closed

All County departments (excluding Constitutional Offices, Courts, Solid Waste Convenience Collection Centers, and the Dispatch Center) will be closed to the public as listed. Constitutional Offices and Courts will establish their respective hours of operations for the holidays.

Nelson County Transfer Station will observe the following holiday schedule:

*The schedule for the Transfer Station will be updated on a holiday-by-holiday basis.

Nelson County Convenience Collection Sites will observe the following holiday schedule: 

Friday, January 1, 2021 New Year’s Day Closed
Monday, July 5, 2021 Independence Day (Observed) Closed
Thursday, November 25, 2021 Thanksgiving Day Closed
Friday, December 24, 2021 Christmas Day (Observed) Closed
Friday, December 31, 2021 New Year’s Day (Observed) Closed

In accordance with the Nelson County Personnel Policies, if a department requires that it be in full operation on days listed as holidays (i.e. E-911/Dispatch Center), the supervisor may provide each employee an alternative schedule of holidays reflective of an equivalent number of holiday hours.  All employees should consult with their supervisor regarding potential deviations to the holiday schedule contained herein.

 


Contact Us
Physical Address
84 Courthouse Square
Lovingston, VA 22949
Mailing Address
P.O. Box 336
Lovingston, VA 22949
Contact
Candy McGarry - Director
434-263-7135
Linda Staton - Finance Technician (Payroll & Human Resources)
434-263-7137
Brenda Loving - Finance Technician (Accts. Payable & Public Services)
434-263-7138
fax: 434-263-7134