• Visiting us in Nelson County? Be sure to check out our Resources for Visitors •

County Holiday Schedule

As of  February 9, 2017:

Nelson County offices will observe the following holiday schedule:

Friday, January 13, 2017 Lee-Jackson Day Closed
Monday, January 16, 2017 Martian Luther King, Jr. Day Closed
Monday, February 20, 2017 George Washington Day Closed
Monday, May 29, 2017 Memorial Day Closed
Monday, July 3, 2017 Fourth of July (Observed) Closed
Tuesday, July 4, 2017 Fourth of July Closed
Monday, September 4, 2017 Labor Day Closed
Monday, October 9, 2017 Columbus Day Closed
Friday, November 10, 2017 Veterans Day (Observed) Closed
Wednesday, November 22, 2017 Day Before Thanksgiving 1/2 Day – Offices Closed to Public at Noon
Thursday, November 23, 2017 Thanksgiving Closed
Friday, November 24, 2017 Day After Thanksgiving Closed
Friday, December 22, 2017 Christmas Eve (Observed) 1/2 Day – Offices Closed to Public at Noon
Monday, December 25, 2017 Christmas Closed
Tuesday, December 26, 2017 Christmas (Observed) Closed

All County departments (excluding Constitutional Offices, Courts, Solid Waste Convenience Collection Centers, and the Dispatch Center) will be closed to the public as listed. Constitutional Offices and Courts will establish their respective hours of operations for the holidays.

Nelson County Transfer Station will observe the following holiday schedule:

Saturday, February 18, 2017 George Washington Day (Observed) Closed
Monday, February 20, 2017 George Washinton Day Closed

*The schedule for the Transfer Station will be updated on a holiday-by-holiday basis.

Nelson County Convenience Collection Sites will observe the following holiday schedule: 

Tuesday, July 4, 2017 Fourth of July Closed
Thursday, November 23, 2017 Thanksgiving Closed
Monday, December 25, 2017 Christmas Closed
Monday, January 1, 2018 New Year’s Day Closed

In accordance with the Nelson County Personnel Policies, if a department requires that it be in full operation on days listed as holidays (i.e. E-911/Dispatch Center), the supervisor may provide each employee an alternative schedule of holidays reflective of an equivalent number of holiday hours.  All employees should consult with their supervisor regarding potential deviations to the holiday schedule contained herein.


Contact Us
Physical Address
84 Courthouse Square
Lovingston, VA 22949
Mailing Address
P.O. Box 336
Lovingston, VA 22949
Contact
Debbie McCann - Director
434-263-7135
Linda Staton - Finance Technician (Payroll & Human Resources)
434-263-7137
Grace Mawyer - Finance Technician (Accts. Payable & Public Services)
434-263-7138
fax: 434-263-7134